Main menu

Milestone Chorological


1972:  SAFRA Camera Club was formed as one of the activities under SAFRA’s cultural and education division lead by Mr Aw Ah Hiom.


1973:  The first Committee chaired by Mr Ho Yue Cheong was elected at the first AGM. The Club also invited Misters Yip Hoi Kee, Ong Kian Chai, Wong Kee Chong to be the advisers.  Subsequently, Mr Yip and Mr Ong started the black-and-white darkroom courses in English and Mandarin respectively.


1973:  The first “Island-wide Photo Competition” was launched to reach out to photographic community beyond the reservists.  Winning entries were exhibited at the Queenstown Library graced by then Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Defence and President of SAFRA Mr Phua Bah Lee.


1975:  The Club moved into the newly opened Toa Payoh clubhouse with a bigger and proper darkroom facilities.  Colour processing course were introduced.


1978:  Published its first photography book “Selected Best in Photography” with the support and contributions from photographers from other clubs and societies.


1985:  Introduced SAFRA Photographic Club Distinction Awards, Honorary Fellow, Honorary Member, Fellowship and Associateship.


1986:  The Club published its first issue of newsletter in a magazine format, sponsored by Shriro (S) Pte Ltd, then agent for Nikon.


1988With the opening of Bukit Merah clubhouse, the club was relocated there with a 13 enlargers darkroom and a permanent photo studio. Studio Portraiture course was introduced.


1991:  Organized the first Photo Convention together with Boon Lay Community Centre Photo Club.


1991:  Invited by Sentosa Development Corporation to co-organized Philippines Fiesta Photographic Competition.


1992:  Won the ASEAN Inter-club Monochrome Challenge Trophy in the First ASEAN Salon of Photography organized by Photography Society of Singapore.  The club won the award for the next five consecutive years.


1992:  Co-organized My Singapore Photo Search, an initiative by MINDEF in celebration of SAFRA’s 20th anniversary.


1992:  All enlargers in the darkroom were replaced.


1992:  Inaugural of the Photographer of the Year Competition, replacing the long running annual Island-wide Photo Competition. This competition is still continuing. The competition was initially sponsored by Schmidt Scientific Pte Ltd, the sole agent for Leica.


1996:  Mr Yip Hoi Kee and Mr Foo Tee Jun appointed as Honorary Advisors of the club.


1998:  Alternative, a nature photography exhibition by NSmen, was held at the Singapore Art Museum.  This is the first month long photo exhibition at the SAM displaying all 60 works by Singaporean.  A commemorative book of the works were also published for the occasion.


1998:  Fifteen of the works from “Alternatives” were selected to join other works from well-known photographers from Brazil, China and Japan for an exhibition at the China Arts Festival in Shanghai China, in conjunction with the Society of Worldwide Ethnic Chinese Photographer’s (SWECP) third AGM.


1999:  Earth, Water, Spirit: Nature Photography in Singapore is a spin off from the Alternatives exhibition.  Some forty works were selected for the two months exhibition at UGO MULAS Photography Museum in the Castello di Sartirana, Italy.


2004:  With the relocation of SAFRA Bt Merah to Mt Faber, the Photo Club also relocated to its present home.


2006:  Pure Art 3.5: a film-based black-and-white photography exhibition and seminar held at Ngee Ann Cultural Centre. The exhibition featured three and a half generations of members practicing chemical based black-and-white photography.


2007:  Co-organized the Sentosa Flower Festival Photo Contest during the Lunar New Year period.


2012:  Celebrated 40th anniversary with an exhibition Memories of Photographic Times, featuring Honorary Advisor Mr Yip Hoi Kee, preceding Chairmen and Best Students at the Ngee Ann Cultural Centre.